Steering Committee

An Organisational Reform Steering Committee has been formed, comprising two Directors from three of the Dairy Plan partner organisations (Australian Dairy Farmers, Australian Dairy Products Federation and Dairy Australia). This committee will oversee the development of reform options, ensure strong industry engagement and an appropriate vote to create a reformed industry structure. The Steering Committee will continue to function until replaced by an Establishment Board of a new organisation, or until a decision is made to conclude structural reform activities. The Terms of Reference for the Steering Committee is available here.

Steering Committee members

Terry Richardson, Australian Dairy Farmers (Chair)

Terry has held a number of positions in the dairy industry in both New Zealand and Australia, including Director of Kiwi Co-operative Dairies, a dairy consultant with Agriculture New Zealand and Chairman of Warrnambool Cheese and Butter Company. He was appointed President of Australian Dairy Farmers in November 2017 and operates a dairy farm with his family in Deans Marsh, South West Victoria.

Rick Gladigau

Rick Gladigau grew up on his family’s dairy farm and was employed there as a farmhand upon leaving school, before purchasing his own farm in 1993. Rick has broad experience, having worked on a potato farm and as a dairy share farmer, and trained in Canada as part of an agricultural exchange program before returning to manage his family’s dairy farm.

He was a ward representative for Australian Co-operative Foods and a member of the Dairy Farmers Milk Co-operative (DFMC) Board of Directors from 2013 to 2016. Rick has been a Board Member of the South Australian Dairyfarmers’ Association (SADA) since 2007 and is currently the organisation’s treasurer.

Grant Crothers, Australian Dairy Products Federation

Grant has been a prominent figure in the Australian dairy industry both nationally and in export markets for more than 20 years. His leadership of Burra Foods saw the business grow from a start-up in 1991 to producing more than 300 million litres of milk per annum and manufacturing a range of dairy ingredients including cheese products, milk proteins and infant milk formulas. He is President of the Australian Dairy Products Federation and Executive Director of Burra Foods.

John Williams, Australian Dairy Products Federation

John has 30 years of experience in the global food industry predominantly in dairy in Australia and in Asia and has held a range of senior commercial positions. He is General Manager – Sales and Industry/Government Strategy at Saputo Dairy Australia and Vice President of the Australian Dairy Products Federation. He is also a director of Dairy Innovation Australia Limited and a member of the Grocery Industry Advisory Group of the Australian Food and Grocery Council.

James Mann, Dairy Australia

James is the owner of Donovan’s Dairying Pty Ltd at Wye, South Australia, which supplies over 20 million litres per annum and milks 2,000 cows. He has been involved in the Australian dairy industry for over 25 years, with experience in farm systems used in dairy farming and agriculture more broadly, across Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom. James was the Chair of the DairySA Regional Development Program from 2002 to 2015. He was appointed to the Board of Dairy Australia in 2015 and is currently Acting Chair.

Jeff Odgers, Dairy Australia

Jeff owns a dairy farming business near Shepparton, Victoria milking 700 cows and has broad experience in managing large scale farm enterprises in northern Victoria and Tasmania. He was appointed to the Board of Dairy Australia in 2013, appointed Chair in 2017 and re-elected to this position in 2019. He is a former Director of Bega Cheese and has served as a Director and Chair of the Murray Dairy Inc. Regional Development Program.